gPodder feedback

Basically if you have feedback you’d like to send and are not on github here is the better place as comments in the Jolla store don’t create notifications (OpenRepos does).

If you have a bug and can take the time to actually file it on GitHub that would be hugely appreciated, this topic is to lower the barrier of sending feedback/feature requests/bugs.

On github the project lives here:

Many thanks to thp who started gPodder and all the contributors!

12 Likes

I use Gpodder on a daily basis. So thank you so much for Gpodder on Sailfish OS !

My main problem is that I’m a big fan of a podcast that I’ve been downloading since 2015! If my phone hadn’t been stolen and if I’d been more diligent about saving, I’d have all the episodes (one a day, except weekends and except July and August). To date, this represents 2983 items and almost 22GB of data on the µSD card, taking into account the symbolic link I made to avoid cluttering up the phone’s memory. The theft of my phone cost me a year, but now the podcast offers, in addition to today’s episode, the episode from 10 years ago. This means I can now download 2 episodes a day, and if this continues, I’ll eventually get back the year I lost when my phone was stolen :wink:

Of course I have a dozen other podcasts that I also follow but don’t necessarily download every day. The harbour-org.gpodder.sailfish folder totals 24 GB (I’m rounding).

Now Gpodder is very, very slow at “mounting” all the podcasts before it can synchronize the episode updates. I don’t know if there’s a way to improve this.

I can open a bug on Github if you think it makes sense

DeepL.com (free version) help me to write this post :wink:

Can I say that is the strangest podcast I ever heard of, daily episodes that are only available that day, wow.

But maybe I’m just sheltered.