Android layers on Jolla C2

Noob here. Not to tech, but to Jolla and the upcoming C2. I do have some questions; pointers or even answers are appreciated :slight_smile:

• from one of the first articles in this thread I saw that Android 13 had an impact on how Jolla can implement Telephony. Does that mean that there’s still Android in this device deep down there? (I am looking to get de-googled as far as sensible);
  • The Reeder device type was mentioned, I found the (partial?) specs but is there a way to do a biometric authentication factor? Did not see a fingerprint sensor, for example.
  • would the Android compatibility software be available to help for those few things that cannot be done without an Andoird app?
  • related: Would Bluetooth be available to Android Apps? I am keen on switching over to passkeys and I understood that BT connectivity between phone and workstation would be beneficial to that. Unless of course this can be made to work natively.

I think this might be a pretty fat first posting - again pointers to fact sheets or other relevant literature are useful already (but I did not find them). Thx to whom it concerns!

Brgds,
Willem

2 Likes

regarding fingerprint

most of your questions might be answered in that thread

and googeling for why needs sfos android i got that hit:

hope that helps

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum @willem_b!

there’s still Android in this device deep down there

In some way. The lack of linux peripherals support for mobile SoCs is because vendors only ship some binary services that “know” how to interact with the hardware, and expose that as an android binder/AIDL/HIDL etc. interface. Basically Sailfish when adapted to such devices uses that “android-targeted” vendor layer as last resort.

is there a way to do a biometric authentication factor

I don’t see any, either, and no reference to one being under screen (which I don’t think would work for LCD).

would the Android compatibility software be available