SFOS Forum Viewer - feedback thread

I don’t believe the forum supports polls, so it will probably strawpollmes, but here’s an idea:
New icon

I’m a shit artist so have no idea if it looks better or worse, so lets have a listen to the broader audience, is it better?
(also I guess post your features-requests, just keep in mind until 1.0 it is a viewer, IF we can bridge the OAuth barrier it might become a real forum client, so posting/commenting/notifications and similar are for now out of scope)
2 Likes

Poll like this?
Do you like current icon?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

1 Like

Thanks so much! I just assumed it was a forum, but hell yeah, this is nice

It’s behind Gear icon.

1 Like

Just for reference, current icon is on the left, proposed variants are on the right:

Personally, I prefer the first proposed variant (with colored dots).

4 Likes

While it looks good, I think it looks more like general chatting app logo than an app logo for SFOS forum. Maybe the one with sailfish logo, but use different colors of the background within the logo and it’s edges (similar way as in the current logo).

First variant for me too, looks perfect.

First proposed variant (with colored dots) is best option, no doubt.

Like @Sefriol mentioned, the first variant looks more like a chat. Can we use the icon available in the below Jolla blog post.

Then, it’s possible to use something like original Discourse logo:

First two variants are using original Discourse color palette.

4 Likes

For SFOS forum only app definetly last one. In case app some day evolves to general Discourse app, third one is most fitting.

3 Likes

The SFOS logo is a trademark so you probably shouldn’t use it on an icon unless you are permitted to.

1 Like

first and third of @dseight’s collection are quite nice. Though they might depict a image editing tool aswell.