Old Jolla 1 Performance in 2020

Dear Sailfishmen,

Now the first Jolla phone is 7 years old. Does anyone still have it in productive use? It still gets updates, which sounds nice, but can the old processor still do reasonably well modern web browsing? What about Openstreetmap? Does it perform well while navigating on the map?

I want to start with Sailfish OS, but on a low budget at first. Is old hardware an option? A couple of used Jolla 1 phones costed like 100 euros.

3 Likes

Forget about using the web browser for more than just some really basic pages, it doesn’t work well and it has a tendency to close all other applications because it runs out of memory. Otherwise, there’s really not much to complain about. I’ve been using the Jolla phone since January of 2014 and, other than the browser, the really, really poor/quiet loudspeaker and the battery sometimes running out faster than I expect (it still lasts several days on average, but I don’t use mobile data or wifi on it very often anymore), nothing really pushes me to get a newer device. Pure Maps, the best maps application you’ll ever find (it uses OSM maps), runs really well, too.

4 Likes

I don’t know your budget, but about a year ago I bought a second hand Sony XA2 for 110 Euro. Together with the paid version of Sailfish it was quite doable.

The Jolla 1 had served me well for 5 years. The software didn’t get slower during that time, but websites did get heavier. I would still be curious if a browser update (there is one coming it seems) would make things better again.

10 Likes