Mobile VPN usage, ipv6 not routed and DNS leaks

I was trying out the VPN feature of SailfishOS (4.1.0.23). The used VPN is enabled for ipv4 and ipv6. However when checking via ipleak.net I see that only the ipv4-IP goes through the VPN but not the ipv6-IP. Here the one of my mobile provider is detected. Also the DNS is leaking. My mobile provider is Vodafone Germany which has switched to ipv6 a year ago. But the same also happens if I use Sailfish VPN in a Wifi.
If I change the mobile network protocol in Sailfish settings from “dual” to “IP”, the ipv6 seems getting blocked by the phone and consequently ipleak.net doesn’t detect a ipv6-IP anymore. The DNS leak persists however. Checked on Brave browser (chromium based) and the native browser.
Using the same VPN on my PC everything is fine and works as expected, so I kinda blame the phone here.

I am no expert on all this, so maybe some of you can help out. Does Sailfish not facilitate ipv6 VPN usage? How can I avoid the DNS leaks? Do I choose the wrong settings?

5 Likes

Asking again, sorry for spam. I guess this is serious if the Sailfish VPN is leaking information.

So ipv6 works trough the VPN or other platforms, or do they just block it when connected?
There is a big stack of commits that seems to deal with blocking ipv6 for this reason on Aug 27 and before…

@jlaakkonen is this one of the fixed problems?
4.2 is already branched out, so is guess that means it is slated for 4.3…

Um. Ipleak is not really a reliable way to determine, well, anything. What is the question?

I, for my part, only use static ipv4, and tunnel ipv6 on a dedicated link. So, my ipv4 (from the telecom), I use to connect to a proxy server (that I control), which, in turn, has multiple vpn providers connected to give my ip ‘from coast to coast’. Sadly, I no longer have a server parked at mae west.