I had the new Jolla phone and the old one laying before me on the desktop to transfer contacts from the old phone to the new one. I selected all contacts and was ready to transfer. Then I had some bluetooth issue and searched the net for help - during which I accidentally touched the phone with the selected items - apparently right on the trash bin. I didn’t see the timer running, because I didn’t notice the touch. When I looked at the phone, I only saw the message n contacts deleted.
I would feel safe if I had a way to enable double confirmation for all deletes. It should be optional but possible. Touch delete, then swipe or something like that.
Hi,
something similiar happened to me when Jolla decided to change from the continuous remorse bar to one that just ticks 5 times. While both giving 5 seconds to react, the former just draws more attention that something’s happening (maybe related to our brain being much more alerted to moving things).
Fortunately, there exists a patch “Smoothly running remorse counter”. For me that’s enough, maybe for you too.
Hi! And thanks for your idea. Can you explain the difference? I’ve been using sailfish since the start, but can’t remember. It probably wouldn’t have helped though, because I wasn’t looking.
It wouldn’t help if you look at an entire different direction. But (at least fo me) it just helps to draw attention if looking at something else nearby, thus registering it in peripheal view.
I wish there were configuration option to change from remorse timer to a popup where one has to drag a slider to confirm a destructive action.
At least once I have lost data due to remorse timer starting accidentally without me knowing that I’ve activated something (action activated similar to accidental “pocket call”)
Also, I’ve “panicked” during that short remorse timer period, sometimes just failing to disable, sometimes accidentally swiped the timer away (which made the destructive action happen instead of canceling it)
I.e. IMO the UX of the remorse timer is bad. Some think differently. But if there were way to replace it with something…
Probably possible with rsync combo. This post might help in some partial ways too.
I don’t know how to trigger manual backup to tar on SD from settings in CLI or any other way automatically. Not asking for cloud option. I would appreciate if anyone know?
I agree with you, that only the remorse timer to cancel the action is not the best solution. I once suggested a different approach: delete immediately but provide the remores timer to UNDO the action. That way, you could also enable an UNDO action that can be triggered after the remorse timer timed out, e.g. by adding a top-menu item “Undo” afterwards.
I actually find double confirmations quite annoying. It reminds me of Windoze behaviour … Delete … Click yes … Popup: do you really want to delete? … If I wouldn’t want to, I’d not hit that button!
If I really deleted something erroneously, I could recover it from the bin, under Linux as well.
So, I’d definitely prefer a simple routine to recover files from the bin instead of a double confirmation for deletion - or, at least, a possibility to disable the double confirmation.
To me, the 5 seconds remorse timer seems to be more than enough to reverse my decision.
My guess is that it should be feasable to write a patch that would allow the timer to be either 5seconds, 10 seconds or 20 seconds.
It may not be exactly what you want.
Some apps, like Fernschreiber, use a 10 seconds timer for important things such as deleting a chat.
I like the remorse timer concept as it is currently implemented very much and don’t want it to be removed. It can be improved however:
Explain remorse timers in the Tutorial app, so that newcomers know what they are and how to use them.
Make the countdown bar run smoothly instead of stepped by default.
Add an option in Settings > Gestures to disable the “Swipe the remorse timer away to immediately confirm the triggered action” gesture. It should be off by default to make things safer for newcomers or people with shaky hands.
Automatically cancel any running remorse timer (as if the user had tapped it) whenever it gets out of view. Possible cases include: User minimizes the respective app or switches to a different one e.g. by tapping an incoming notification; user opens the app grid or top menu; incoming call; calendar notification or alarm popping up; remorse timer is running on an element in a scrollable list (a single picture in the Gallery app for example) and the user scrolls this list, thus pushing the remorse timer out of the viewport. In any of these cases, a toast message similar to the message that appears when you disconnect the charging cable should be shown to inform the user that a running remorse timer was automatically cancelled.
An option in Settings to set a minimum countdown time for any remorse timer. Apps can still specify higher times for some or all of their remorse timers.