Available devices way too big - moved away from grandiose Sailfish OS

Having Jolla-1 then jolla-c, then xperia-x, on which my camera broke, then I bought xperia-10 and this is soo long to fits in just no pocket, not even in big hands.

So I hade to move away from my lovely OS. I don’t see a small device coming out in the next time.
I’m now on Palm Pepito, great size, ugly OS

I would love to see a Sailfish port for this neat device:

6 Likes

if you still want SFOS get an xz2 compact. Its about the same size as J1 and other than the camera -which will be fixed when we more to the new android base- everything else works. And its a hi end device.

5 Likes

Buy a second hand XA2, for a bit more than 100€ (incl. Sailfish license) you will have a phone the same size than the X with a bigger screen and an updated Android runtine (and it’s one less produced phone)

3 Likes

Agree with ApB. I’ve been using XZ2c for a few months, and it’s great. And, if you have another phone that’s official, (I also have XA2), then you can pull Android stuff, etc., off of it and use it on your XZ2c, so it’s as good as official…
I also have an X Compact, which is also great, but can’t use newer Aliendalvik on it, even if you have the files, (it’s somehow kernel-dependent)…

3 Likes

Does XZ2c support android? According to the project page it doesn’t… :S
Or did google send me to the wrong page?

I was talking about the XA2 on my side :slight_smile:
XZ2 is not officially supported but it’s interesting to know that it’s possible to pull the files from a XA2 and make it work on a XZ2!

The XA2 has nearly the same size as the Jolla1. width +1mm; hight +1cm

3 Likes

Far be it from me to post a USENET-style ‘Me too!’, but I completely agree. Jolla needs to expand their official hardware support to a broader range of devices in order to accelerate (achieve?) adoption.