Wireshark install from OpenRepos: missing libgcrypt.so.11

Dear community. I am pretty new to SailfishOS and gemini PDA, I am trying to install wireshark, and it fails with the error:

Nothing provides ‘libcrypt.so.11’ needed by the to be installed wireshark-1.0-1armv7hl

Please help.

Thank you in advance

Where are you trying to install it from?

Maybe here wireshark | OpenRepos.net — Community Repository System ? Same comment there. I think, given that it’s from 2014 it may need a bit of work.

Out of curiosity I tried now to search for ‘libcrypt.so.11’ on Storeman, and it led me to Wireshark app. On trying to install it activated the source NielDK, but did not offer to install in pull down menu. ‘libcrypt.so.11’ also not available in Storeman, Chum or by ‘devel-su pkcon install libcrypt.so.11’. How can one get this lib?

edit: is this usable for Sailfish phones?
https://pkgs.org/download/libgcrypt.so.11()(64bit)
(mind the g!)

The missing dependency is libgcrypt.so.11.

The version in 4.5.0.19 is 20. Symlinking doesn’t work.

1 Like

This version is present on my Volla.
Does this mean that simply Wireshark version is outdated and needs update by the dev to work with the modern libs?

I recommend you immediately disable and remove the NielDK repo.

It’s one of the dangerous ones as it has packages which overwrite system ones and has not been maintained for a loooong time!

2 Likes

Many thanks for the warning :sparkling_heart: ! Done.

Why is it even still available? Well, I understand “because he didn’t take it down”, but I really think someone should, though I don’t know who.

Thank you all.
Yes, I mistyped.

libgcrypt.so.11

As I understand, Wireshark needs that exact lib during the installation.
And that lib is pretty old.
Anyway, what is the way to install the Wireshark on the Sailfish OS?
Or, maybe someone could recommend another app with similar functionality.
Please help.
Thank you again.

1 Like