Whatsapp help for a new user

Im new to sailfish, up and running from some hours.
I have alredy setted up quite all my need … unbelivable.
just whatsapp is missing
Please telkl me WA status on sailfish, I like to exchange backup with my other androd phone, so I need a solution to backup and restore to GDrive,
I have to set up microG? what else?

Check the Self-Check in microG settings (the settings are toggled on/off by tapping on the text, not on the tickbox).

Read this if you haven’t already:

If the GoogleDrive restore fails, use local.
The restore path in Sailfish is
/home/defaultuser/android_storage/Whatsapp/Databases

Install File Browser from Jolla Store (and start reading about OpenRepos/Storeman and Chum tomorrow).

AuroraStore is a Google Play Store client. Get it from
https://auroraoss.com/
The version in F-Droid is too old.

1 Like

LOL, both are at v4.1.1 for the stable release, see https://f-droid.org/en/packages/com.aurora.store/ and https://auroraoss.com/

BTW, F-Droid provides one with a much better guarantee that their APKs do not contain malware than any other “alternative” App Store for APKs (i.e., all except for Google Play Store).

A clarification. If Drive works, it works in a 2 way? So it restore the backup from my other phone and then update the drive backup from sailfish data?
Or is just one way to “restore to” sailfish?

Yes, both ways. If the Google Drive connection fails, the problem is in microG, not your Google account in Sailfish settings.

a guide to setting up microg and drive for whatsapp?
I have found some different guide, confused…

The Google Drive settings for WhatsApp are in WhatsApp settings (Conversations → Backup) for Google Drive. You don’t need the Google Drive client for WhatsApp.

Ok so I dont need to install microG to let WA access in backup & restore drive folder?

You knew about microG in the first post. I assumed you had it running already.