What should I do 1st after installing Sailfish?

Total newbie question, I know. Anytime I install a new Linux distro on a computer I always find a “do this after installing” article with tips, suggestions, and settings to change.

I assume you guys have the same suggestions for Sailfish. My phone shipped today so I should have it in a few days and be ready to get started.

Looking forward to your suggestions.

4 Likes

I do always in this order:

• Login to my Jolla-Account
  • Go to System-Settings and do a “Search for Update”
  • Add CardDAV-Account to Sync my Contacts in People-App
  • Add CalDAV-Account to Sync my Calender
  • Add IMAP/SMTP-Account for my E-Mails
  • Add WebDAV-Mount to Access my NAS and for Photo-Backup/…etc
  • Install Chum- and Storeman-“Appstore”
  • Install my needed Apps (mostly natives one like Fernschreiber, File Browser…etc)
  • Copy back some saved Configurations
  • Create Softlinks
8 Likes

App stores

Install fdroid (android) and chum gui (sfos). As app stores. Then use chum to install openrepos for further sfos apps and aurora store from fdroid for playstore android apps.

4 Likes

Like already said, install the common App-Stores (F-Droid, Aurora Store, CHUM and Storeman).
What I can also recommend is to install “Sailfish Utilities” from the Jolla Store.

Everything else depends on your preferences. If you need messaging applications, there are native ones for Signal (“Whisperfish”), Telegram (“Fernschreiber”) and Matrix (“Hydrogen” or “Sailtrix”). If you are looking for maps-applications, you can use PureMaps, OSM Scout, maep.

And of course there are plenty of other applications the community made.

3 Likes

Welcome @Glockdoc ,

I recommend to install File Browser version 2.5.1-1 from OpenRepos because the older version available in Jolla Store doesn’t show all directories and files.

2 Likes