Scooter - riding mobile scooters with SailfishOS (testers wanted)

I have worked on an app to ride electric scooters via SFOS, since there are no official apps available on SFOS.

I was able to implement support for Bird scooters, and the result is this app:

Features:

• Show profile details
  • Show scooter locations and restricted areas on a map
  • Ring scooter
  • Unlock scooter / start ride by scanning the QR code on the scooter
  • Show pending/active rides which have not yet been stopped

I would be happy if someone volunteered to help me test it. I have performed several unlocks/rides using the app, so far I have encountered no issues.

The app is built using undocumented APIs, and therefore errors might occur. Please make sure to have a device capable of running the official Bird app (iOS/Android) to fix issues just in case.

Since this is my very first SFOS app, I am still new to packaging and providing the app to the stores. I have currently only built the RPMs and uploaded to github (Releases · patrickjane/harbour-scooter · GitHub), e.g. there is no official package available yet in any of the stores.

You might need to install Mapbox GL Native bindings for Qt QML | OpenRepos.net — Community Repository System on your device, although I have added the dependency in my RPM spec. I am however pretty new to this, so I don’t know that well how dependency management works at all.

Feedback highly appreciated, let me know what you think of the app!

7 Likes

You have to set

Requires: mapboxgl-qml

and not qmapboxgl. The latter will be pulled automatically if needed as a dependency.

1 Like

Then I’ll get:

harbour-scooter: nothing provides mapboxgl-qml needed by harbour-scooter-1.0-1.armv7hl (code: 13)
Installation failed

Anything else I should add?

You have to have my OpenRepos repository added as well. That one provides mapboxgl-qml