Unlike other old applications, bans shouldn’t happen using the new WhatsUp as this app is only linking to your main account, instead of being the main account. At most, you’ll just be unlinked, which means you should be able to link it again.
Everything has been tested for quite some time now, and it should be ok.
Edit: WhatsUp supports full (encrypted) backup and recovery for WhatsUp itself. So if you take a backup, delete the application, you should be able to restore it back again on WhatsUp. You can even backup the session so you don’t need to relink it (just make sure that the main account is at least being used once in 14 days, this has nothing to do with WhatsUp itself but how Meta makes sure that the main account at least is being active once in 14 days)