OsmAnd + Magic Earth on 4.5.0.16 and then 4.5.0.18

Hello
I am not a developer or a computer scientist, just a user who can do a command line if I am told what to do with precision and why !

This 4.5 installed well on both my x10ii and my wife’s XA2. Overall, no problems and woks fine. But it has generated on my X10ii (and certainly also on the XA2) two very big regressions for two Android applications:

• OsmAnd no longer accesses my µSD card where my maps and favourites places are.
    I understand that the solution can be found here.

But I don’t really understand what to do or what commands to give in a clear way. There should be a real “how to” in Jolla’s Zendesk to give a solution.

• Magic earth: this application also has all its maps on the µSD card of my X10ii.
    Unlike OsmAnd, Magic Earth accesses the maps! Why is the behaviour of this Android application different from OsmAnd?

Unfortunately the application takes much longer to open than in Sailfish OS 4.4. Then it freezes and tells me: “insufficient disk space, free up some space on your disk then try again”! But when I check with the lighthouse application, I still have some “ram” space !

In short, for me these regressions are quite incomprehensible. And I’m going to need these two applications very soon, especially Magic Earth which I find easier to use in the car than OSM And.

Thanks for your help and sorry for my english (i used DeepL to help me !)

2 Likes

When i run the ls -l command in the /Android/data folder on the µSD, I find the following values for the net.osmand.plus folder:
drwxrwxr-x 4 defaultu appsuppo 4096 Feb 18 19:24 net.osmand.plus

All other folders are at drwxrwxr-x 4 defaultu media_rw 4096

I understand that the anomaly is on the defaultu appsuppo values which should be at defaultu media_rw ?

Moreover the rights of the net.osmand.plus folder are at drwxrwxr-x

Is this sufficient or should we change them too?