Nextcloud / dav account fails due to nginx bot protection

REPRODUCIBILITY: 100%
OS VERSION: 4.5.0.25
HARDWARE: Xperia 10II
UI LANGUAGE: Deutsch
REGRESSION: unknown

DESCRIPTION:

Creating nextcloud, caldav or carddav account or syncing fails with nginx server.

PRECONDITIONS:

Nextcloud running on nginx or behind nginx reverse proxy, bot protection enabled

STEPS TO REPRODUCE:

1. Use a nextcloud instance with nginx and enabled bot protection.
  2. Create a new CalDav or CardDav account.
  3. Get error message “Die Netzwerkanfrage ist fehlgeschlagen”
  4. Running jolla-settings from cli results in “QNetworkReply error: 202 with HTTP code: 403”
  5. Fined your IP banned in nginx

EXPECTED RESULT:

Correct user agent needs to be set, to allow bot protection to be active.

ACTUAL RESULT:

IP is blocked by bot protection, no sync possible.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

I’m not an expert in this field, so please be patient with me and the following information.
Log shows Sailfishs user agent as “Mozilla/5.0”, which causes ban by nginx.
My laptop shows up as “Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:125.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/125.0”, which works fine.

Although I would say this rather a misconfiguration on the server side, I think the sailfish-browser is using special user-agents because of… cool setups… like that, so maybe it would actually be sensible to resuse something from there?

Can you be more specific about ‘bot protection’? It’s not a config toggle afaict, there are all kind of modules for nginx, is it PerimeterX Bot Defender - NGINX or some other one? If you control the server you can probably whitelist specific user-agents, if not the admin could, or maybe worth bringing up upstream, but it doesn’t seem to be nginx core feature