Jolla store - what is the plan?

Hello,
I am quite new to Sailfish os and I am wondering if Jolla store is dead. There are many unkept applications and it feels cluttered with dead applications. It is almost impossible to find something interesting there. I know, there is a openrepos.net, but primary source of applications should be Jolla store, as it should be more trustworthy.
Is there any plan to improve this state?

20 Likes

hi @susenerajce
there is no reason the jolla store would be more trustworthy. just limited in funcionality of the apps at some APIs are prohibited to use.
also, dont be confused; openrepos.net is the real store for sailfish apps :slight_smile:

Yes, but primary source of apps every new user is using is Jolla store. And current state is very sad. I would suggest atleast to remove nonfuncional apps.

6 Likes

Well, openrepos apps are getting broken even more often than Jolla store apps, precisely for that very reason - because many of them are using unstable APIs which are not being maintained in a backward compatible manner. A well-written Jolla store app has better chances (albeit still not guaranteed) to survive an upgrade. It’s a tradeoff - stability vs functionality. Both ends of the spectrum look equally sad IMO.

9 Likes

A well written OpenRepos app has probably the same chances to survive an update and a well maintained app will be updated within hours on OR should there be issues.
The crucial part here is “well written”.
The restrictions in JollaStore seem to be quite arbitrary in some cases and are a major hindrance to some developers.

6 Likes

Well, a Jolla Store app can be updated just as quickly as an OpenRepos app if there’s someone willing to do that. Yes, it will take a day or two longer for a Jolla Store app to get through acceptance but that’s not much of a difference given that many apps are not being looked at for years. API stability (or instability if you’re using an unofficial API) has a much greater impact, IMO.