How to Read Textline from File to Global Variable/Text-String?

How to Read Textline from File to Global Variable/Text-String?

This is my first Project with Qt and Sailfish SDK and some things are seemed very confusing and not to be straight forward like i know that from LUA-Coding.

I found out read a textline can be reached with this code:

#include QFile
#include QString
#include QTextStream
QFile file("/home/defaultuser/title.txt");
QTextStream in(&file);
QString title = in.readLine();

But where to place it? Outside or Inside that main-function in project.cpp?:

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{…}

And will “title” be a global Variable/Text-String that i can use in CoverPage.qml too?:

Label {
x: Theme.horizontalPageMargin
width: parent.width - 2*x
text: title
color: Theme.highlightColor
font.bold: true
wrapMode: Text.WordWrap
font.pixelSize: Theme.fontSizeExtraSmall
}

There’s a pretty good overview here:

You don’t have to use C++, you can also use python for many things:

If you come for lua, you might find doing it with python faster for your purposes. It’s also possible to develope (edit python, qml) directly on the device if you’re so inclined.

Thanks for the links, i try the python-way, it looks less complicated/horrible and more like the easy LUA-Workflow for quick prototyping.

One neat trick with qsettings is this:

#include <QtCore/QSettings>
QString osVersion  = QSettings("/etc/os-release", QSettings::IniFormat).value("VERSION_ID").toString();

which, despite the IniFormat specifyer works on simple key=value files (such as shell-compatible ones like /etc/os-release above), and avoids dealing with files and iostreams and such.

2 Likes

Consider passing native string to QML as a context property, e.g.

QQuickView* view = SailfishApp::createView();
    view->rootContext()->setContextProperty("Title", title);
2 Likes

QQuickView* view = SailfishApp::createView();
view->rootContext()->setContextProperty(“Title”, title);