Extract Jolla 1 Factory images for cloning

Hi!

May be a simple question, may be an extremely hard question, but I felt I’d ask.

I have a Jolla 1, working perfectly, all nice and well. I have another Jolla 1 which shows a message “permanently locked”, and I have not been able to reach recovery mode on this device for the life of me. If I have understood correctly, it is possible that the firmware is that old, that there just is no recovery yet.

This phone has an unlocked bootloader.

As far as I have been able to find, there are no factory images available, with dead links everywhere and people mentioning Qualcomms copyrighted code.

My question is: Are there fastboot flashable firmware anywhere, or is there a simple guide for “building my own” since I have never done this before?

Or is there a guide on how I could extract a factory image from my working one and flash it to my dead one? Is it even possible?

Thank you for your help.

//Jimi

AFAIK, Jolla phone’s bootloader is locked, and there are no images made available to flash

I think this is what you are after:

Coderus is still very active around here, perhaps add your questions to the other thread if you cannot get something working,
Good luck

1 Like

without accessing recovery you can’t do anything. without unlocking bootloader before incident you can’t flash unsigned firmware images.

4 Likes

Thanks for the replies. When I boot the locked Jolla in fastboot mode, it does indeed say “unlocked” so that leads me to believe the bootloader was unlocked before. Or does it mean something else?

I also read somewhere that you could just unlock the bootloader whenever willy nilly if the firmware was old enough.

I’ll check out the guide and see if I understand enough of it to create something.

As I said, I have two Jollas. One locked, and one perfectly fine, unlocked.